Personnel

Core & Research Faculty/Scientists/Engineers

Ali Gordon
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-4986
Email:Ali.Gordon@ucf.edu
Additional Details: Mechanics of Materials Research Group
Jay Kapat
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-2179
Email:jayanta.kapat@ucf.edu
Additional Details: Director, Center for Advanced Turbo-machinery & Energy Research (CATER)
Jeffrey Kauffman
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-0370
Email:JLKauffman@ucf.edu
Additional Details:
Jihua Gou
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-2155
Email:Jihua.Gou@ucf.edu
Additional Details:
kareem_ahmed
Kareem Ahmed
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-5710
Email:Kareem.Ahmed@ucf.edu
Additional Details: Propulsion & Energy Research Laboratory (PERL)
Kevin Mackie
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-2857
Email:Kevin.Mackie@ucf.edu
Additional Details:
raygosh
Ranajay Ghosh
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-3402
Email:Ranajay.Ghosh@ucf.edu
Additional Details: http://www.ranajayghosh.net/
Samik Bhattacharya
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-4039
Email:Samik.Bhattacharya@ucf.edu
Additional Details: https://samikbhattacharya.wordpress.com/
Seetha Raghavan
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-1737
Email:seetha.raghavan@ucf.edu
Additional Details: Raghavan Research Group
Subith Vasu Sumathi
Classification: faculty
Status: current
Telephone: 407-823-3468
Email:subith@ucf.edu
Additional Details: VASU Lab

Post-Doctoral Research Associates

Jonathan Reyes

Academic Level: Post-Doctoral.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Dissertation Topic: Development of New Optical Techniques for Aquiring Three-Dimensional Flow Field Information

Email: jonathanreyesucf@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

Jonathan Sosa

Academic Level: Post-Doctoral.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Dissertation Topic: Characteristics of Reacting Hypersonic Flows

Email: sosaj3@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

Peter Joo

Academic Level: Post-Doctoral.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Dissertation Topic: 

Email: peter.joo@ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

Ranjith Kumar

Academic Level: Post-Doctoral.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Dissertation Topic: 

Email: a.k.ranjithkumar@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

Doctoral Students

 

Abdurrahman Alenezi

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Cycle Innovation & Optimization

Tentative Thesis Topic: Solar Hybrid Energy for Poly Generation with Allam Cycle

Email: aaalenezi@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Ahmad Saleh

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Use of Heat Pipe in Efficient Air Cooled Condensers

Email: ahmads@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Akshay Khadse

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Cycle Innovation & Optimization

Tentative Thesis Topic: Investigation of Heat Transfer and Material Compatibility for Design of Heat Exchangers in sCO2 Cycles Coupled with Solar and Nuclear Power Plants

Email: akshaybkhadse@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Alok Minesh Shah

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Advanced Internal Cooling of Additively Manufactured Turbine Blisk for a Supercritical CO2 System

Email: alok.shah@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Andres Curbelo

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Fundamental Understanding of the Role of Target Surface Roughness in Impingement Heat Transfer

Email: acurbelo1@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Ankur Deshmukh

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Plant Dynamics and Transients

Tentative Thesis Topic: Transient Behavior of a sCO2 Power Cycle

Email: ankur.deshmukh@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

Anthony Morales

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Lean Combustion Dynamics/Flame Extinction

Email: selaroma627@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

Bernhard Stiehl

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Combustion And Emission Characteristics Of A Lean Axial-Stage Combustor

Email: bernhard.stiehl@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Bryan Kenneth Palogan

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic:   The Effect of Particle Size on the Turbidity and Flow Turbulence Around Coral Reefs

Email: bryanpa@Knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Cal Rising

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Lean Combustion Dynamics/Flame Extinction

Email: calrisin@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Daniel Rosato

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Standing Detonations in Hypersonic Flows

Email: drosato@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Dibya Raj Adhikari

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic:  TBA

Email: dibyarajadhikari@Knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Gaurav Gupta

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Effect of Concavities and Convexities of Surface Heat Transfers

Email: gaurav.gupta@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Gerardo E. Barreda

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Cycle Innovation & Optimization

Tentative Thesis Topic: High Temperature Heat Exchangers for sCO2 Cycles

Email: gebarreda@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Hardeo Chin

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Turbulence Driven Deflagration-to-Detonation

Email: Hardeo28@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Husam Zawati

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Use of Passive and Active Flow Oscillation for Enhancement of Impingement cooling

Email: hzawati@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Ian Dunn

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Flow Dynamics of Rotating Detonation Engines

Email: IanDunn12@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Jessica Chambers

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Turbulence Driven Deflagration-to-Detonation

Email: jessica.chambers7@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Justin Hodges

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Use of Machine Learning for Predictive Algorithms for Various Internal Cooling Strategies

Email: justin.hodges@ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Kamlesh Joshi

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic:  Flow Control Using Wing Morphing

Email: kamleshjoshi91@Knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Katerina Chagoya

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Alternative Fuels

Tentative Thesis Topic: Catalytic Processes in Upgrading and Thermal Decomposition of Bio-Derived Fuels for use in Propulsion

Email: katerina.chagoya.5433@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Luisana Calderon

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Impact of AM Process Parameters on Material Micro-Structure, Mechanical Properties and Thermal Performance of Hot Gas Path Components

Email: luisana@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Manoj Prabakar Sargunaraj

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic:  Unsteady Aerodynamics

Email: mano@Knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Marcel Otto

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: The Effect of Vortical Structures on Heat Transfer in Pin Arrays for Trailing Edge Airfoil Cooling

Email: marcel.otto@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

Michelle Otero

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Investigation of Lean Axial Stage Combustor at Elevated Pressures

Email: michelleotero@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Olamilekan Banjo

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Heat Transfer and Friction in Low-Aspect-Ratio, Rib-Turbulated Channels

Email: Banjo.David@Knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Sheikh Salauddin

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Alternative Fuels

Tentative Thesis Topic: Characterization and Prediction of Advanced Biofuel Properties

Email: sheikh_salauddin.ucf@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Shinjan Ghosh

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Gradient and Non-Gradient Based Optimization of Gas Turbine Blade Internal Cooling Channels

Email: shinjanJU.ucf.edu@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Tommy Genova

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Characteristics of a Reacting Jet in Crossflow at High Pressure

Email: tommy.genova@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Vipul Goyal

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Digital Twin and System Integration

Tentative Thesis Topic: Anomaly Detection and Failure Prediction in Field Data from Combined Cycle Power Plants

Email: vipulgoyal1211@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Wilmer Flores

Academic Level: Ph.D.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: Characterization of Acoustic Damping Devices  

Email: wflo002@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Weston Olson

Academic Level: PhD

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: westono@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Master Students (Thesis)

 

Alan Felix

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Alternative Fuels

Tentative Thesis Topic: Thermal Decomposition of Alternative Fuels

Email: alanf2011@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Andre Woodard

Academic Level: MS.

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBD 

Email: andrewoodard21@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Christian Anzalotta

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Control of Tip-Leakage Vortices Using Plasma Actuators

Email: Canzalotta@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Daniel Garcia

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Dynamic Ground Effects on a Flat Plate

Email: dny1993@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Jorge Torres

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Investigation of Leading Edge Impingement

Email: jst0825@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Nicholas Fernandez

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Mechanical Integrity/Manufacturing

Tentative Thesis Topic: Fluid Structure Interaction Analysis of a Morphing Wing

Email: nicholas.fernandez@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Patrick Tran

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Investigation of Trailing Edge Cooling with Pin Fin Arrays

Email: PatrickTran@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Tyler Scofield

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: Vorticity Transfer in a Leading-Edge-Vortex due to Controlled Span-wise Bending

Email: tyscof@Knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Samik Bhattacharya

 

Undergraduate Research Students

Yakym Khlyapov

Academic Level: Senior (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: akim.khlyapov@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

James Sherwood

Academic Level: Junior (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Cycle Innovation & Optimization

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: jamessherwood@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Jeffrey Peterson

Academic Level: Senior (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: jeffreypeterson1997@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Kenji Palavino

Academic Level: Undergraduate

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBD 

Email: kpalavino@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Max Fortin

Academic Level: Undergraduate

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBD 

Email: max.fortin@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Micheal Tonarely 

Academic Level: Undergraduate

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBD 

Email: max.fortin@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Research Support

 

Ben Stratford

Academic Level: Sophomore (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: benstratford@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Chaz Spirazza

Academic Level: Sophomore (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: chaz.spirazza@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Francisco Avila-Ortega

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: avilaf@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Jonathan Martinez-Pacheco

Academic Level: MS

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: jmartinez23@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Kenan R. Ugucu

Academic Level: Sophomore (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email:kenan.ugucu@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

Mitchell Caudill

Academic Level: Senior (Undergraduate)

CATER Technical Area: Aerodynamics, Heat Transfer, and Durability

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBA

Email: mitchcaudill131@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Jayanta Kapat

 

Rachel Hytovick

Academic Level: Undergraduate

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBD 

Email: rhytovick@knights.ucf.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kareem Ahmed

 

Sydney Fusco

Academic Level: Undergraduate

CATER Technical Area: Combustion and Emissions

Tentative Thesis Topic: TBD 

Email: sydfus19@knights.ucf.edu